Lowell Thomas Awards

The 2018-19 SATW Foundation Lowell Thomas Travel Journalism Competition is open for entries. The deadline is April 1, 2019. For contest rules and information on how to enter, click here.

The SATW Foundation was launched in the early 1980s by a group of member editors who wanted to encourage higher standards for travel journalism. The SATW Lowell Thomas Travel Journalism Competition recognizes and rewards excellence in the field. It is the first established, broad-based independent competition for travel journalists.

The competition awards more than $20,000 annually in prize money for outstanding print, online, and multimedia works, for travel photography, and both audio and video broadcast. It is the premier competition in this field, akin to the Pulitzer Prizes for travel journalism.

The Lowell Thomas Awards are highly acclaimed because it is:

  • open to any destination or travel product;
  • open to all North American journalists, not just SATW members;
  • judged independently by the faculty at top U.S. schools of journalism.

The competition and awards are named for Lowell Thomas, an acclaimed journalist, prolific author, and modern-day world explorer who achieved numerous “firsts” during five decades in travel journalism. Thomas is primarily known as a broadcast journalist, but his career touched nearly all disciplines. His dedicated spirit of adventure and discovery epitomizes that of the inquiring travel journalist.

The SATW Foundation funds its work through donations that are tax-deductible under IRS Code Section 501(c)(3).

For information, to make a donation to the Foundation and to see the full list of past winners, visit satwf.com website.

Society Of American Travel Writers


Copyright 2019 Reserved. Accunity – Dallas Web Design & Development Agency