Because tourism leaves permanent ‘footprints,’ some harmful to the environment, some destroying the reasons for traveling, the Society of American Travel Writers in 1969 created an award to recognize conservation and preservation efforts of individuals and organizations,” SATW President Len Barnes said in 1988.

SATW members nominate individuals, communities, or organizations that have contributed to a quality travel experience through conservation, preservation, beautification or environmental efforts. Nominations, describing the evolution of worthy projects, are considered by the SATW Phoenix Committee and submitted with recommendations to the Board of Directors for final approval.

Click here to learn more about the Phoenix Award and submit a nomination. 

To view all past winners click here.

Below is the video made for 2017 winners.

Below is the video made for 2016 winners.

Below is the video made for 2015 winners.


Society Of American Travel Writers

Copyright 2019 Reserved. Accunity – Dallas Web Design & Development Agency